Perfect Summer Raw Dinner

ImageMost wonderful, most refreshing, most healthy, most RAW soup ever!  I decided tonight once and for all that for a sweet, firm, cold chunk of watermelon, I will kill or die.  I mean honestly, is there anything better?! On a 100 degree Baltimore summer day, I challenge anyone to convince me of a better oasis.

Jinji’s Watermelon Gazpacho

  • 3 cups of watermelon, pureed
  • 2 cups of watermelon, diced
  • 2 tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1 green onion, diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 1/2 small jalepeno, seeded and diced
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • A huge handful of cilantro, chopped

So you might ask, what could possibly follow such a lovely first course?  I’m on this Ayurvedic path of blending flavors; being sure to include elements of spiciness, pungency, sweetness, astringency, bitterness and sourness.  So the heat and sweetness were taken care of in the luscious watermelon soup above.  I decided for dinner, I would go raw falafel with a macadamia feta, fermented greens (cheers to BOA!), pickled green beans, tomatoes, cashews and figs.  The falafel is most exciting!  I made it with pistachios, carrots, onions, mushrooms and spices, then rolled it in hemp seeds and dehydrated them for a while.  YUM.  YUM.  YUM.  And the macadamia feta?  Forget about it.  Freaking good.  Image

Macadamia Feta “Cheese”

  • 1 cup macadamia nuts (soaked overnight)
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast
  • A little parsley
  • Sea Salt
  • Turmeric

Ahhhhh, summertime 🙂

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Perfect Summer Raw Dinner

  1. Somer says:

    Dude, you’re getting so healthy you’re going to be transcended soon! 😉 Yummy dinner! We have cold and rain (way unusual) so I made warm soup. I need to get my raw on when the heat comes back.

    • jinji says:

      Thanks lady! Cold & rain? Ick. I’m sorry! And here I am drooling over watermelon! Let me know if you want a good “cold weather” raw soup! I know of a couple 😉

      • Somer says:

        Yes please! I actually have a copy of the Uncook Book. Which is freaking amazing, but when something has like 50 ingredients, it gets a little daunting….

Leave a Reply

